Three Things I Need to Say

A man apologizes to his former church, for leaving. He’s learned some important things about the Christian’s relation to the church.

I Say Stuff -- E.A. Love

I left First Baptist Church just over three years ago. I had had enough.  I was tired of inefficient committees.  I was tired of worship wars.  I was tired of what I perceived as passive leadership. I was tired of the infighting. I was tired…of the church.  To be clear, I was not just tired of FBC; rather, I was tired of the institutional church.  I grew up at a rural Baptist church in central Missouri that, while smaller, operated much like FBC, the first church I’d really planted myself in as an adult.  A bit of history might be helpful here; there are more good memories associated with the church I grew up in than I can recount, but I most closely associate it with the tumult and upheaval that prompted my family’s exit. It’s probable that the sour taste in my mouth left over from that negative experience…

View original post 1,068 more words

Categories: Pastoral, The Church | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

